Inspiring Engineering Leadership for 130 Years

In 2013 the University celebrated 130 years of engineering education. Since the first engineering classes were held in March 1883, the University has been committed to producing, supporting and inspiring engineering leaders.

Our commitment to leadership extends beyond our teaching and research. We partner with and work in collaboration with leaders from across business, industry and academia through our own Engineering Sydney board, the advisory and leadership team of the John Grill Centre for Project Leadership, and the Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering.

Our researchers, students, alumni and staff are leaders in their fields who use their knowledge and skills to change lives in Australia and around the world. Here you can read about some of their journeys, research passions, achievements and innovations.

Archie Johnston

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology

Chair of the Education Forum of ATSE

Leading advocate for engineering education
Find out more
Celebrating 130 years of engineering leadership

In 2013 the Faculty of Engineering celebrates one hundred and thirty years of engineering education at the University of Sydney.

At the beginning of March 1883 the first classes in engineering were held in the Main Building. Engineering then formed part of the newly created Faculty of Science (1882). The classes were attended at the opening by three matriculated students who were candidates for the engineering certificate, and by seven non-matriculated students.

The lecturer in engineering was Mr W.H. Warren, who had been appointed in December 1882 following a decision by the University Senate to carry out significant revisions to the teaching of the University.

(Sydney University Archives, G3_224_0003) Find out more
Fariba Dehghani

Leading biomaterials engineer Find out more
Lynn Crawford

Director of our Project Management Program Find out more
Peter Nicol Russell
Founder, Peter Nicol Russell School of Engineering

(Sydney University Archives, G3_224_1074) Find out more
Margaret Hamer OAM

First female Bachelor of Aeronautical Engineering graduate in Australia Find out more
Salah Sukkarieh

Director of Research and Innovation at the Australian Centre for Field Robotics Find out more
William Warren

First Dean of the Faculty of Engineering

(Sydney University Archives, G3_224_0413) Find out more
Jillian Kilby

Civil Engineer, Company Director and Alumna Find out more
Nancy-Bird Walton AO OBE DStJ

Pioneer aviatrix and founder of the Australian Women Pilots' Association Find out more
Greg Chamitoff

NASA Astronaut and Lawrence Hargrave Professor in Aeronautical Engineering Find out more
Rolf Prince AO

Emeritus Professor and distinguished engineering educator Find out more
Harry Poulos

Emeritus Professor and Alumnus Find out more
Deans Past and Present

Professor William Henry Warren, pictured here with first year engineering students in 1892, became the University’s first Dean of the Faculty of Engineering in 1920.

Take a look at our honour roll of Deans past and present.

(Sydney University Archives, G3_224_0859)
Albert Zomaya

Chair of High Performance Computing and Networking

Director, Centre for Distributed and High Performance Computing
Find out more
Hala Zreiqat

Leading tissue engineer Find out more
Kim Rasmussen

Head of the School of Civil Engineering Find out more
Ruchir Punjabi

Managing Director and Alumnus Find out more
John Grill

Chairman, John Grill Centre for Project Leadership

Chairman, WorleyParsons Ltd
Find out more
Matt Barrie

Entrepreneur, Lecturer and Alumnus Find out more
Kate McDonell

PhD Student, Ambassador for women in engineering and Vice President, Engineers Without Borders NSW Find out more
David Stewart

Chairman of Engineering Sydney, Industry Leader and Alumnus Find out more
Andrew Harris

Co-Director, Laboratory for Sustainable Technology Find out more
James Alexander

Computer science honours student and co-founder of Incubate Find out more
Andy Dong

Warren Centre Chair in Engineering Innovation Find out more
Stuart McGill

Advisory Board Member, John Grill Centre for Project Leadership

Governor of CEDA, former senior vice-president, ExxonMobil Corporation and Alumnus
Find out more
Sir David Higgins

Chief Executive, Advisory Board Member for the John Grill Centre for Project Leadership and Alumnus Find out more
James Curran

Director, National Computer Science School

Named one of Sydney's 100 most influential people
Find out more