Election to the Royal Society

31 July 2008

The Faculty of Engineering & IT is delighted to congratulate Professor Yiu-Wing Mai on his election to a Fellowship of the Royal Society (FRS). Professor Mai joins Professor Roger Tanner as a Fellow of this prestigious society. The Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering School includes leading academics, and a strong research culture which has led to these Fellowships.
The winners are:


Associate Professor Itai Einav in Civil Engineering for his groundbreaking work on Breakage Mechanics recently published in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A.

Faculty Teaching Award

Dr Irena Koprinska from the School of Information Technologies for outstanding teaching, including new curriculum design

School Teaching Awards

Civil Engineering: Dr Abbas Elzein
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering: Dr Andrew Harris
Electrical and Information Engineering: Associate Professor Javid Atai
School of IT: Drs Tara Murphy and James Curran (shared)